RSS Feed

Is Not Only for the Perks – I Promise

Posted on
Is Not Only for the Perks – I Promise
 

Being that Thanksgiving is so close, I am taking the opportunity to be thankful for what I consider to be a privilege in my life: my job.   Unfortunately, in the United States too many are suffering the absence or loss of a job , or the uncertainty of maintaining their current jobs in the near future. I was searching for current information on the state of national unemployment and I stumbled upon this data on the site for The National Conference of State Legislation: 

The unemployment rate dropped slightly in October, to 9.0%, according to figures released by the Bureau of Labor Statistics on November 4, 2011. Unemployment has hovered between 9.0 and 9.2 percent since April 2011. 

Approximately 13.9 million workers are unemployed. The number of long-term unemployed, those without a job for 27 weeks or more, dropped slightly to 5.9 million workers.

I have been working at my present job for 6 years now, and I have much to be thankful for in this respect:

  • The coolest supervisor ever
  • Some flexibility in my hours
  • Summers off
  • A decent benefit package
  • A beautiful and pleasant environment
  • Nice co-workers
  • And the best, I get to take classes towards my Bachelors degree for free, yes FREE

An added perk is all the great speakers and performers that come to campus every year; in addition to some very cool, fun, and family friendly events that I can bring my kids to.  Here are some of the speakers, performers, and events I have been so fortunate to witness:
President Clinton, Harvard Professor Tim McCarthy, Money Guru Jean Chatzky, Musician and Performer Freddy Cole (Nat’s brother), Annual Easter Egg Hunt as well as Annual Kids Field Day, Actress Mary McDonnell, Journalist Joan Lunden,  among many others.  Why,  just this week I ran into…

How cool is to pet a baby Kangaroo right at work? Courtesy of Southwick's Zoo

 
 
A blood drive right at work – how convenient! Free pizza for all donors included.

International sensation Svet, Mr. Hip-Hop Violinist casually performing for students and staff right at the student center

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

Svet Promo Video , Svet Bio

Thank you Dear Lord for my wonderful job!

What are you thankful for?

 
 
 
 
About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

4 responses »

  1. this is such a great way to look at your job, soooo many people complain about work (me especially) but with the economic climate as it is, we’re so lucky to have a job to go to every day!xxx

    Reply
  2. You are so right, any job can be mundane. Think about it, if we start looking for faults and bad aspects of our jobs we will find them; but is it not better to flip the coin and look at the possitives? More times than not the possitives outweight the negatives but we are just too norrow minded to see this. It looks like you’ve got your possitives well aligned; Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply
  3. Wow, can I work with you? Although work can be so mundane sometimes, you are right to look at it and be thankful. I graduated college at the very start of the financial meltdown and not only was I lucky enough to find a job, but I’ve kept the same one for three years. My job, my family and my list – that is what I’m thankful for!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

