RSS Feed

Jack-O-Lantern Spectacular

Posted on
Jack-O-Lantern Spectacular

This Year We finally made it to the Roger Williams Park Zoo Jack-O-Lantern Spectacular; another item knocked out of my Places to Visit in RI list.  I’ve been wanting to attend this event for about 10 years now.  Tried it back in 2004 but the line was soooooooo long that after waiting for about 45 minutes, with two toddlers in tow, and no other adult to help; I quit and turned around when an announcement was made letting everyone know that strollers were not allowed once inside the trail. Strollers ARE allowed nowadays, of course, my kids no longer require them. 

This event is attended by thousands of visitors each year, and it runs throughout the month of October.  On weekend nights the lines are so long that wait time could be up to 2 hours.  This year we went on a Monday night and we were able to purchase our tickets without waiting in line; once inside the zoo there was a bit of a line before getting to the actual Jack-O-Lantern trail, but it wasn’t bad, and they had fun signs with info about the event and trivia questions to keep us entertained. 

The actual display was truly spectacular, displaying about 5,000 carved and lit pumpkins.  This year’s theme was Journey Around the World, and stations included Italy, England, Asia, Mexico, Cuba, India, and the North Pole, among others.  My favorite were India and Asia.  Each station had background music to go along with the theme, such as The Beatles for England. There were carvings of The Leaning Tower of Pisa, Gandhi, Fidel Castro, Mariachis, a Geisha, and even an “In Memory Of” section, which included a carving of Steve Jobs.  I totally recommend this as a fun fall family outing.

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

4 responses »

  1. This seems awesome! I wish I could catch a flight tonight 🙂 I’m sure it’s truly gonna be a zoo tonight with all the people visiting. Glad you got to mark this off your RI list. I’m going Trick-or-Treating for change tonight. It’s the perfect way to get some candy and some change for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

    Reply
    • Hi Phil, I didn’t get to go Trick-or-Treating with the kids since I had night class on Halloween night. We did have a costume party at home the previous Friday and that was lots of fun. Tric or Treating for a good cause is such a great idea! Well, if you ever decide to come to RI (and I hope you do) let me know so that we can go knock some items off both of our lists.

      Reply
  2. How fun is that? I would love to go to something like that! Who carves the pumpkins? Local artists or can anyone submit ideas?

    Reply
    • Hi there, it was a fun night. Local artists carve the pumpkins; I’m unsure on how they decide the themes and stations; who knows, they might consider ideas from the public.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

