RSS Feed

Happiness in a Bowl: Meet Fred

Posted on

It appears to be an unwritten rule at our home that every fall, as my kids return to school,  they graciously pick up every germ and virus they can gather in order to kindly bring it back home and share with their mother.  Thus, the past few weeks at our home have been full of coughs, sneezes, sore throats, and generalized body aches; courtesy of which I got to spend a couple of days out of work, lounging in my pjs and sorting loads of laundry.  This is also the reason why I had neglected my bucket, as well as following my favorite fellow bloggers.

We are slowly getting back into our normal usual routine.  I must admit, I did find an unexpected source of joy during my “sick as a dog” days.  See, my kids have been begging for a pet since forever. My daughter is allergic to furry animals, which limits the kind of pet we can get.  I personally do not like having caged birds,  lizards and snakes creep me out, frogs may leap onto me – no way; we looked into buying a couple of turtles but they require more upkeep than I am ready to handle, thought of getting a tortoise instead, and planned to save up to buy it, and all the trinkets it requires.

Meet Fred

I’ve always dismissed fish as pets because they just seemed so “cold” and indifferent.  What kind of interaction could the kids and I get from a fish really?  They just swim around minding their own, and oblivious to us humans, unless you attempt to scoop them up; then they just try to avoid you at all costs.  Well, someone recently gave my son a Betta fish as a belated birthday gift.  You must know I was not happy at first, not really.  Then I came to realize this was just darn perfect.  The kids have an animal of their own now; no more hearing them beg for a pet.  This wonderful bluish Betta requires minimal upkeep and very little investment on my part, my kind of pet indeed! 

Fred Coming up to Look at Me

And guess what, I found myself delighting in observing him, I’ve even started to make all sorts of foolish sounds at him every time I pass by his bowl. Don’t tell anyone but I even call out his name the way one might call out a baby’s name; yes I talk baby to the fish.  It makes me very happy when Fred responds to my voice by swimming up close and making a display of his moves.  Now, I realize that this might just be his way of letting me know to back off, perhaps mistaking my reflection for another Betta, as they are very confrontational towards each other.  However, I prefer to take it as a sign that Fred is happy to see me 🙂  You see, sometimes what you don’t want is exactly what you need.

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

6 responses »

  1. He needs some rocks…and a plant. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Steve, thanks for stopping by. We eventually gave Fred some rocks, which he seemed to like. Unfortunately, he did not live long. Shortly after he died, there was a “build your own fish tank” event at work. This was free and I was welcomed to bring my kids so I brought Aleck as one of our special dates together. He got a tank, rocks, a plant, fish food and a goldfish which he named Tiny. Tiny is alive and well thus far but I gotta admit I miss Fred, and no, I don’t talk Babytalk to Tiny.

      Reply
  2. singlegirlramblings

    Looking at fred made happy…I had a betta fish when I was in college…the first time lol. Now I have a gold fish that my son loves to try and touch when i’m not watching. ah memories 🙂

    Reply
  3. rabbits are very cute, that would have been my choice if my Karla was not allergic to furry animals. It is very interesting to see the kids interact with and take care of pets.

    Reply
  4. We’ve had a couple of fish four daughters. Now we have a rabbit which is a lot more upkeep but the family really enjoy the time they spend with him (I guess he is a little cute, but I never said that) and my youngest daughter (3) now has a giant snai (not a giant yet) which we’re watching grow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

