RSS Feed

‘Tis the Season to be… Productive?

Posted on

Fall 2011:

 After reading some of Paul’s posts on  his blog, 101 things in 1001 days, I’ve come to realize it would be useful to slap some timelines on some of my goals.  Paul’s approach was to give himself 1001 days to conquer all of the items on his list, and he has a countdown to day zero in order to keep him on track.  I must say he’s accomplished some neat things, such as Bungee Jumping, Reading all of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes Stories, Scubadiving, and Skinny Dipping in the Ocean.  This got me to thinking…. How could I make this timeline thing work in my favor?

I got it.  My timelines will be seasonal, meaning I will pick a handful of items on my list to tackle every season. So here you have it people, my bucket list items to tackle this fall:

#2 Taking Salsa Lessons – I have put the word out looking for suggestions on a good instructor. I will also look into local clubs that offer free lessons earlier in the night before their regular programming starts.

  • I would like to take lessons once a week
  • By the end of the season I would love to be confident enough to dance in public without loosing the rhythm 

#4 Raising Happy, Healthy, Confident, Cooperative, Responsible, and Faithful children – Of course this is one of my ongoing goals, and one in which I am involved every single day.  This season, I will concentrate my efforts towards this goal as follows:

  • By keeping up with our Special Dates
  • By working with each of my children to develop their own life lists
  • By providing more structure for them (see goal #23)

 # 5 Growing in Faith  – Another ongoing goal, my plan is to seek a deeper level of connection with God during my prayers.

  • I want to engage in a deep prayer and meditation session at least once per week

  #11 Completing my Bachelor’s Degree – Happy to report that my fall class has already begun, and it is very interesting; which is a great thing since this is a night class. 

  • By the end of December I should be 3 credits closer to getting that degree.
  • And enrolled for at lest 3 more credits for the Spring semester

 #14  Mastering a Few Signature Dishes  – So far I have mastered 1 dish: Chofán.  During the summer I cooked much more than my usual, and most of it was pretty good, but not as good as I would like it to be.  So I will be cooking some more, repeating dishes I cooked this summer until I have them down pat. 

  • The goal is to completely master 3 dishes during this fall.

 #20 Becoming an Accomplished Writer  –  This will be a long process that I plan to enjoy every step of the way, so no rush here. These steps are next:

  • Translating my first short story, Lo Mal Hecho (Bad Deeds), into English
  • Making improvements to my Blog

# 23 Leading an Organized Life  – You might recall me posting about how this is the goal I feel would make the biggest impact on the rest of my list, and my life.  Now, this is much more time and energy consuming than one might think, at least for me.  So far there’s been some progress in terms of decluttering certain areas of my apartment, and creating routines to help my kids, and myself, get through the day with a bit more ease.  Here’s what I want to do next:

  • Completely implement our household routines and tweak as necessary 
  • Create and start to follow a Budget

# 24 Exploring RI from A to Z – I made some progress on this one this Summer, and I plan to keep on discovering the nooks and crannies of my cozy state this season. 

  • I want to cross of 3 RI cities/towns from my Little Rhody list

 #34 Volunteering/Donating –  This one is a fairly recent addition to my list.  My efforts in this area will be concentrated on:

  • Making one blood donation
  • Finding a one time volunteering opportunity that I both care about and can fit into my schedule (easier typed than done)

 #35 Reading More  – Another fairly recent addition to the list.  I have committed to reading 10 books per year.

  • Will read 5 books in order to complete this year’s quota. 

How about you, care to share your upcoming plans?

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: My A to Z | 101 Things1001 Days

  2. oooohhh….come to my island and we can hop on my catamaran, sail 35 miles to Puerto rico, salsa dance, visit so many amazingly beautiful chruches, sail back to the Virgin Islands, go to St John, (3 miles from my home port), snorkle and enjoy pristine white beaches, then sail to the British Virgin Islands (12 miles from my home port), and conquer Tortola, Jost Van Dyke and Norman Island and just think, in 3 days you will have come closer to God, been to the Spanish, US, and British Virgin Islands, learned to sail on a big boat, learned to tie a knot, seen roads built by the dutch 600 years ago, learned how to make rum from sugar, and gone to an ancient place where hyroglyphs still exist….oh and made a new friend…

    I am the T….howdy….

    Reply
  3. Simply Paul’s blog is a total inspiration, I agree with you there… I love the idea of setting goals, I can’t do it myself (I wish I could) but I’m such a terrible organiser and terrible at keeping to a plan… buit I respect people who can so much,. I love the goals you’ve set yourself and I can’t wait to hear about how they develop.. especially the signanture dishes and the becoming an accomplished writer and I’ll be cheering (and following) your corner!!! Keep the enthusiasm my lovely… you can do it!!! (P.S. sorry for my lack of comment of late I’m still travelling, back home in 2 weeks though so i’ll be back!!)

    Reply
    • Thanks Jen! Your enthusiasm is contagious. I’ve been following your adventures, which are amazing and entertaining. Can’t wait to read about the rest of your vacation.

      Reply
  4. Hi Paul and Thanks!!!!! I’m keeping my fingers crossed too 🙂

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the shout out. I hope my deadline approach to life listing helps. I’ll keep following and keep my fingers crossed for you to see if you meet your goals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

