RSS Feed

The Results are In…

Posted on

Disclaimer: I am not an alcoholic; not a regular drinker either.  I hardly ever drink alcohol, and when I do, it is usually 1 or 2 drinks the whole night.  Glad we got that out-of-the-way 🙂

Now to My Progress Report

On Cocktails:
Last week I posted a poll asking readers what their favorite cocktail was, and the results are in:
* Piña Colada snatched the first place
* Closely followed by the Martini (in different variations)
* Honorable mention goes to a glass of water (love it!)

For all of you Piña Colada lovers, here’s Paula Dean’s recipe:

Ingredients  

  • Ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup rum
  • 1/2 cup coconut cream
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup pineapple chunks
  • Sliced pineapple, for garnish, optional
  • Maraschino cherry, for garnish, optional

Directions
Fill blender halfway with ice cubes. Add rum, coconut cream, coconut milk and pineapple chunks. Puree.

Serve, garnished with a slice of pineapple and maraschino cherry, if desired.

On # 14 Mastering a Few Signature Dishes:
No new dishes have been mastered as of yet, but have been cooking more often and am close to mastering Steak with Onions, Fried Okra, Yellow Rice with Corn, and Sautéed Pork Chops (Dominican Style)

On # 24 Exploring RI from A to Z:
 I crossed off visiting the Museum of Natural History and Planetarium at Roger Williams Park.  The visit lasted about 2 hours; of which the Planetarium show took about one hour.  The price was right at $3 per person, including the show. 

They have nice Native American Exhibits, a Victorian Era furnishings and artifacts  display, and my favorite, preserved animals that look so much alive. 

I will recommend this for a family outing with kids 4 and up; younger children aren’t allowed in the Planetarium show. 

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

6 responses »

  1. I think I voted for pina colada because they are always consistently good! You never really get a bad one! That recipe looks delish, I may have to try it!

    Reply
  2. You are right; I voted for Margaritas but I think I will be preparing this Piña Colada very soon.

    Reply
  3. Dang I missed the poll! I prefer Martini’s to Pina Coladas.

    Reply
  4. That Pina Colada sounds yummy! I’d vote for that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

