RSS Feed

Read This if You Have a Daughter OR if You Like to Run Around the House Naked

Posted on

Public Service Announcement:

…On Nakedness
I don’t know about you but I just love taking off my clothes; not in a “sexy stripper” way but in a “liberating my body” kind of way.   After a long day of work, parenting, running errands, and such, one of my favorite things to do is getting home, shutting the door and taking all the layers off – packages, accessories, clothing, shoes, undies, everything! Ahhhh what a sensational feeling of relief. 

Click on this Picture to go to Dove's Self-Esteem Page

 Yes, I love being naked within the privacy and comfort of my home.  Going about my chores and to-do’s without the extra weight and restrain has become part of my daily routine.  As my elementary school age kids grow, their approach to my bare body changes.  Of course, from infancy to their early pre-school years it didn’t even face them. As they grew a little older and became more aware of their own bodies, and of society’s views on nudity, they seemed a bit rattled by my running naked around the house, so for a long while I restricted my being completely bare for when I was home alone, and would wear undies and a tank when they were present.

Recently, I have retaken to wearing my Eve custom while my kids are around.  Why? Karla is much more preoccupied with her physical appearance and the shape of her body.  I’ve always shot for physical appearance not to play a significant role within our family conversations.  Knowing that my children (especially my daughter) would sooner rather than later get bombarded with the narrow views of beauty that our society upholds, I wanted home to be a safe heaven in that sense.  Unfortunately, media, and the opinions of family and friends force our children, girls specially, to second guess their opinion of themselves at every moment.  At her young 8 years my little princess is worried that her belly is not flat enough; that just breaks my heart.  So, as the most important female figure in her life, I’ve decided to model a positive personal image of myself.  My goal is for her to know that although my body does not fit media’s rigid mold of “beautiful” , I think of myself as a Hot Mama, curves & love handles included.  At first my kids did not know what to make of my walking around naked again; so I would just start dancing around happily, or shout out little phrases like “Beautiful Naked Mama Coming Through”; they would laugh and giggle.  Now, little miss Karla walks naked around our home sometimes too, which puts a big smile on my face, seeing that she is more comfortable with her own beautiful body. 

I am including a link to a heartwarming video, which is part of the  Dove’s Campaign for Real Beauty.  It’s a shame our young girls do not get more messages like this both on the media and through us, the adults in their lives. 

If you have a young daughter, niece or sister, please model a positive view of female beauty by not stressing topics such as being thin, and dieting while you are around her.  You will do her a huge favor and possibly prevent her from dealing with low self-esteem issues and eating disorders in the future.

Here’s a link to the National Eating Disorders Association’s website: NEDA

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

9 responses »

  1. I LOVE this! I’ve had an eating disorder since I was a mere twelve years of age, and I wish that someone would have walked about the house nude for the sake of my well-being! Seriously though, ladies, instill the positive body image. If your children don’t thank you later, I will now.

    Reply
    • Hi Hayley and thank you so much for your feedback and for sharing your story. I feel for girsl growing up today with the constant preassure to be “perfect” Heck, even I as an adult female have to constantly retrain my brain not to fall in the trap of this unreal vision of what a woman should be, sold to us by media and society.

      Reply
  2. Way to go Karla whohooooooooo!!!! Lovin the self confidence!!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Aww, this gave me chills! That’s such a great thing you are doing for your kids. I am so grateful to have been raised by a mother that never put much of an emphasis on appearance. I don’t ever remember her commenting on her weight, and although I’m trying to get my belly a *little* flatter before my beach vacation, I don’t obsess about weight either, probably because of her.

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment; it’s good to know that possitive self image modeling from your mother had such a good impact on your own self image. Enjoy your beach vacation!

      Reply
  4. awww thankyouuuu :*

    Reply
  5. LOL ! oowow like mother like daughter ! Everyone should feel comfortable in their own body; you always tell me and slowly but surelyy I am learning that. I must say you guys arent the only ones that like to walk around naked ;p lo,l and yes you are one HOT MAMA !!!! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

