RSS Feed

Summertime Bucketing

Posted on

Taken by Ada and Carlos Alves

According to The Old Farmer’s Almanac, this year Summer officially started on June 21st and will officially end on September 23rd.  Going by that account, 6 weeks have already passed and there are 7 weeks left of Summer.  On the other hand, if we are talking about school vacation, which for my kids started on the week of June 20th and will end on August 30th, there are 4 weeks left of “Summer” before they go back to class and I go back to working full-time.

 This is relevant to me because I had loosely made up my mind to work on a few specific goals from my bucket list during this Summer.  I have worked on some of those goals, but I now realize that if I want to make more progress I need to make it official by writing it down and committing to doing so here, so that all of you can hold me accountable. Following are the specific list items I am working on this Summer, and the actions I have taken so far:

 #11 – Completing my Bachelor’s Degree: I committed to taking a Summer class towards my degree.  Happily I accomplished this by enrolling on Studies in Narrative; a course which I really enjoyed and has also help me advance on goal # 20 Becoming an Accomplished Writer.  Passed it with a B+.

#14 – Mastering a Few Signature Dishes : So far I have mastered 1 dish: Chofán.  The plan is to work on a few more before fall.  I will keep you posted.

# 23 – Leading an Organized Life (Ongoing): I have made little progress on this one. Since many areas of my life would benefit from being better structured, it would probably be a good idea if I further define this item and section it down in order to make it more doable.  Things I have done so far include using a personal agenda, work on and implement a morning family routine, started working on an evening family routine.

# 24 – Exploring RI from A to Z : Since my budget has been tight; I figured local traveling would be a great way to enjoy the Summer while crossing off a few RI spots from my list.  Here are the places I have visited so far: McCoy Stadium in Pawtucket, RI; The Swan Ride at Roger Williams Park, Providence, RI; Coggeshall Farm Museum in Bristol, RI, and Easton Beach, in Newport, RI.

Other RI spots I would enjoy seeing before the change of season include: The gondola ride at Waterfire in Providence; Another Newport spot, perhaps the Cliffwalk or the Mansions; Downtown Bristol Waterfront; Roger William Park’s Greenhouse in Providence; as well as Prudence Island in Portsmouth.

How is your Summer going / What plans would you like to accomplish before it ends?

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

6 responses »

  1. It was a thrill to have you in the summer class. You are a great student and are well on your way to being an accomplished writer. Great blog!! Terri

    Reply
  2. Oh God, is summer really going to last that long? It’s too hot!! 😉 You have very big goals for this summer! Congrats on doing so well in your class! And that Chofan recipe looks delish, I’m going to have to try it.

    Reply
  3. well congrats on completing your Summer Class! I see you are setting a lot of goals or yourself and I hope you can complete them . ( Im here if you need anything ) ooh and if you need a date to go on that boat at the waterfire I’m your gall 🙂 lol love yaaaa byee :* ❤

    Reply
    • Thanks darling. What a surprise that you peeked in here 😉 Thanks for leaving me feedback. I will def.call you for the gondola ride; can’t think of a better date for such a sweet moment, love ya back.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

