RSS Feed

Turkey Bravado

Posted on

We went on the road very early, headed to Coggeshall Farm Museum, in Bristol, RI, in order to participate in their BREAKFAST in the BARNYARD program.  This is a Farm Museum which operates exactly as in the late 187o’s, down to the garments the farm attendants wear.  It was a good experience in which the kids and I got to interact with pigs, chickens, turkeys,

horses, mules, and cows.  We were permitted to pet the animals, brush them, and even milk one of the cows!  I especially liked that part since this was my first experience doing so.  It was much easier than I thought, and she was  very mild-mannered, patiently letting everyone take a turn at squeezing her jigglers. 

The little farm-house is decorated with scarce furnishings from the 19th century. It has a very old-fashioned kitchen were we were delighted to eat some freshly made johnnycakes. 

In summary, I would totally recommend this as a family outing.  Word of caution – the turkeys do not appreciate being teased.  My nephew Alex quickly found this out when he started making funny turkey sounds and three turkeys lined up in attack mode ready to confront him.  I had to come to the rescue and appease the birds.  Luckily one of the farm attendants had warned us in the beginning of the tour to just stay still and quiet if at any point we felt nervous around one of the animals, and that’s what we did until the turkeys backed off. 

Bring a hat, a water bottle, and get some sunblock and bug spray on before your visit.  As we left the farm we also had a chance to make a quick stop by Bristol Harbor, which is gorgeous. This day trip serves to partially accomplish goal #24 on my list.

Have you ever had a farm animal try to attack you?

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

6 responses »

  1. I’ve been trying to find a place in California where I can milk a cow. I’ve had no luck. Sounds like a cool little place!

    Reply
    • Cece try searching for Farm Museums; which are full operating farms that allow the public to come in and have the farm experience. If you still have no luck just come to RI and I will be happy to bring you to Coggeshall Farm Museum 🙂

      Reply
  2. I’ve always wanted to milk a cow! You would think this would be an easy thing to do, living in Kentucky, but I haven’t done it yet!

    Reply
  3. Never a farm animal, but when I was in Costa Rica these little ant-eater looking animals attacked me over a granola bar!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

