RSS Feed

Special Date: Carousel Village

Posted on

For our last special date Karla chose to use her Feinstein Jr. Scholar Card at Roger Williams Park Carousel Village.  This card grants her a free ride on the carousel, free pop-corn, and a free face painting.  As I love Roger Williams Park, I was happy to please her.  We got on the carousel and went round and round giggling away.  Afterwards we stumbled upon a nice gentleman who was showing his parrots and letting people take pictures with the birds.  Karla was cautious about the parrot and did not want a picture with it; but of course, I couldn’t miss this opportunity.  The bird climbed on my arm, and even pecked at my sunglasses, which were resting on top of my head, while my daughter snapped a few shots. 

Karla went on to the bouncy house.  I would have loved to go in as well but the one that supports grownup use was out-of-order that day, so I just watched her have fun.  As she was the only one in the bouncy house at the moment, Karla quickly got tired and wanted to go on to the next station.  A jumping thingamajig; she patiently waited in line until it was her turn.  Then she was strapped, lifted, and given the instruction to start jumping.  She did, and then her giggles got the best of her making her knees weak and unable to jump as hard as she is capable of.  Still she seemed to be enjoying herself.  Lastly, we went for her pop-corn, and got some Del’s Lemonade.  We walked around the Japanese garden a bit before heading off to pickup Aleck.  I am really enjoying these special dates with both of my kids.  Not only will we cherish those moments for years to come, but it also lets them know how special they are to me, which is a great piece of goal #4 on my list.

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

4 responses »

  1. For my husband’s birthday we went roller skating and they had a bouncy house in the middle of the rink that we all took advantage of. It’s been a long time since I’ve been in a bouncy house and it takes a lot more energy that I remember….or that I have now!

    Reply
  2. I love this..I think special dates with each child are important. Karla looks like she is having so much fun! Can’t wait to see where you’re next one will be!

    Reply
    • Thanks Yudy. I have been enjoying these one on one moments with the kids and I can tell they really feel special when they have me all for themselves for a couple of hours.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

