RSS Feed

Special Date: Swan Ride

Posted on

This was another one of those “Killing Two Birds with One Stone” outings as it counts toward at least 2 of the goals on my Bucket List. My son Aleck and I had one of our Special Dates where we get to spend quality time just the two of us doing something we both enjoy.  Special Dates with each of my children is one of my ongoing efforts towards goal # 4 on my List “Raising Happy, Healthy, Confident, Cooperative, Responsible, and Faithful Children.”  Since Aleck chose to visit Roger Williams Park and hop on a Swan Ride for our date, it also counts towards goal #24 of my list, “Exploring Rhode Island from A to Z.”

It was a nice warm day and after running a few errands and having lunch at Chelo’s, one of his favorite restaurants, Aleck and I headed to Roger Williams Park for our Swan Ride.  The very nice young boy attendant helped us get suited with life jackets for our mini  adventure. He recommended waiting for one of the boats equipped with an awning  because  being under the sun without it while pedaling the boat could be brutal; we listened to the voice of experience, and I was very thankful for it later.  

As soon as our boat was available we carefully loaded the Swan.  We received quick navigating instructions and off we went.  For $6 per person you get to ride 25 minutes, which let me tell you is more than enough pedaling for me.  As my legs are longer than Aleck’s, I was mainly in charge of the pedals, while he was in charge of the direction shift.  We passed many other joyful riders, admired the lily pad patches, gazed at the geese and ducks in the lake, and most importantly, enjoyed our time together.  I was glad he chose the Swan Ride since that is one of the spots I had chosen to visit within Roger Williams Park, Providence, RI.  This park has been one of my favorite places to visit since I was a teen, but there are a handful of spots/activities I had not experienced yet; The Swan Ride is no longer one of them 🙂

How about you; what is your favorite Park and what do you enjoy doing there?

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

4 responses »

  1. Aleck is a little cutie! The Swan Ride looks like it’d be really fun. I wish we had something similar to that here. Very cool 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m glad you enjoyed it, I tried that but in Orlando at Sea World, and I almost had a heart attack, because I dont know how to swim and when I saw myself in the middle of all this water I wanted to get back to the ground! Lol

    Reply
    • Lol, I can sympathize. I don’t know how to swim either so I made sure we both got those life jackets. Nevertheless, I would probably had been more anxious if Aleck had not been with me. Funny, but being around my kids forces me to play the brave mami part 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

