RSS Feed

Progress Report

Posted on

On The Birthday Bash…

Well, well, where to start… If you’ve been following my posts you may know that this is a fairly recent blog, the main purpose of which is to serve as an accountability tool for myself in reaching the goals posted on my Bucket List.  You may also remember the challenge I chose to tackle first from my list – Throwing Myself a Superfun Birthday Party. As posted on my Birthday Bash page, I have taken many steps towards reaching this goal.  However, the date is fast approaching and there are a few important items left undone.  Yes, if you must know, I am driving myself insane thinking about the things left to do.  Moreover, I am second guessing decisions that were already made, for example the location. 

The original location is adequate in size, pleasing to the eye and FREE; however I will need to invest money and time in decoration, also I need to rent a dancing floor because the whole space is carpeted.  The caterer serving the location has given me a good price, but I have to purchase soft drinks , there will be a cash bar, and there will be an extra charge for the bartender as well as for the waiter.  I am thinking now that maybe having this party at a restaurant might work better.  The price per person might be a little higher but they will take care of everything, I wouldn’t need to purchase soft drinks because the restaurant will provide water pitchers and there will be a cash bar.  Also, they have hardwood flooring and space for dancing so I won’t need to rent a dancing floor. Plus, the look of the space is pretty stylish and I don’t think I will need any extra decoration.  Oh, I almost forgot, the restaurant closes at 1am vs. the original location which closes at midnight.  Last but not least, the original location will require me to arrange for cleaning the space after the party, which won’t be necessary at the restaurant. The starting price per person of this restaurant is much to high for my budget; however, I called and they seemed willing to negotiate the price down.  I need to pay them a visit tonight so wish me luck 😉

Other details to finalize include figuring out the music playing system, putting together a playlist, formal invitations, centerpieces (which might not be necessary at the restaurant) , and a few more things… 

Part of the reason why I chose this as my first task is because I wanted it to be a fun and not overly complicated goal in order to gain some momentum and motivation to continue pursuing the rest of my goals.  However, I have a major anxiety problem, which is what keeps me from attempting new things in the first place – I just get overwhelmed with things that may seem simple and effortless to others, and I feel like giving up.  I know Lame! My brain needs to get passed all the “what ifs” in my head; I want to get passed them. Please advise!

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

10 responses »

  1. Yeah, sometimes “free” comes with hidden costs. Sounds like this restaurant may be the better way to go.

    Reply
    • Yes, I am a bit more relaxed now that I’ve signed the contract and I know mostly everything will be taken care of for me. I will be saving myself lots of stress in the long run. Thanks for peeking in and leaving me some feedback.

      Reply
  2. Planning a party is very stressful….so first take a deep breath. You need to price out both options. I know you mentioned that the original price for the restaurant is high; however, if they are willing to negotiate, it might just be cheaper. By the time you figure out the cost of the caterer, decorations, soft drinks, center pieces, and dance floor I think it might be more expensive than the restaurant. PLUS you have to set up and clean up….Oh no! I think that it’s your day to enjoy. Maybe see if you can just do a buffet rather than courses or maybe just have it be a bunch of appetizers. If it’s a private room in the restaurant, they might wave the room fee when you have a certain number of guests.

    Reply
    • Thanks Yudy, for some reason your words make me de-stress about the whole thing. I did go to the restaurent tonight with my good friend Leona (thank the lord for good friends). The owner is a lovely and warm lady. The place is fantastic. The original price came down $8 per person! This will include linens, decor, no centerpieces needed, they’ll provide canddles, pitchers of water on the tables, dance floor, even tax and gratuity! And the decor of the place goes perfectly with my “theme” I booked it 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

