RSS Feed

Measuring Up

Posted on
Cute BDay Card

Courtesy of MonsterMarketplace Products

On one of my previous posts, Ghosts of Girlfriends Past to be exact, I had talked about certain items on my bucket list that have a special  characteristic in common; they are perennial.  These goals are supposed to be ongoing undertakings rather than consummative tasks.  I am having trouble coming up with ways to measure my progress on this type of goal.   I have identified 4 such items on my list and will include them below with the hopes that you might give me helpful suggestions:

#4 Raising Happy, Healthy, Confident, Cooperative, Responsible, and Faithful children

#5 Growing in Faith

#16 Cultivating valuable friendships

#19 Fostering a close-knit family environment with my kids, parents, siblings and extended family members

I feel like I am already engaged in most of these goals on a daily basis, but how do I determine if I am on the right track?

About Carola

I am, simply put, a work in progress...

3 responses »

  1. Thanks Elle and Jessica, your comments made me realize the heart of the problem. Although these are ongoing goals in which I am involved practically on a daily basis, I feel like I could do better at them. In order to be satisfied with my performance I need to figure out what being a better blank (mother, daughter, sister, friend, Christian) means to me. This way I will be able to identify concrete steps to take towards those goals. I will get to work on that!

    Reply
  2. These are ongoing goals that will continue for a lifetime. I think as long as you are satisfied with how things are going, that’s all that matters. It doesn’t matter that it’s not measurable for other people.

    Reply
  3. It’s difficult to gage things that are so obscure. I guess as long as Child Service’s isn’t on your back than you’re doing a-okay! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

